COUINAUD’S liver segments


Couinauds classification divides liver into 8 segments principally on the basis of:

Position of 3hepatic veins and the main portal veins

segment 1- caudate lobe
segment 2 and 3-lateral segment of left lobe
segment 4- medial segment of the left lobe
segment 5 and 8- anterior segment of right lobe
segment 6 and 7- posterior segment of the right lobe

So the segmentation begins in the center at segment 1, and goes clock wise ends in segment 8.

  1. Left lobe has 1, 2, 3, 4a and 4b.
  2. Right lobe has 5,6,7,8


Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: