Cormack and Lamberty classification of Fasciocutaneous flaps

Fasciocutaneous flaps are designed based on blood vessels running either within or near the fascia.

Cormack and Lamberty classification of FC flaps

Type A

• Dependent on multiple non-named fasciocutaneous vessels that enter the base of the flap.

• Lower leg ‘super flaps’ described by Pontén are examples of type A flaps.

∘ Their dimensions vastly exceed the 1:1 ratios recommended.

Type B

• Based on a single fasciocutaneous vessel, which runs along the axis of the flap.

• Examples :

  1. Scapular/parascapular flap
  2. Perforator-based fasciocutaneous flaps of the lower leg.

Type C

• Supplied by multiple small perforating vessels, which reach the flap from a deep artery
running along a fascial septum between muscles.

• Examples:

  1. radial forearm flap (RFF)
  2. Lateral arm flap.

Type C flaps with bone

• Osteofasciocutaneous flaps

•These flaps were originally classified as type D.


  1. ∘ RFF raised with a segment of radius
  2.  Lateral arm flap raised with a segment of humerus.

Leave a Reply

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

%d bloggers like this: